Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

piccolo question

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by arose11, Mar 5, 2003.

1. arose11

arose11

Sep 30, 2002
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Hey Michael, I have been playing the bass for about 3 years and am going to try something new. I am interested in piccolo strings, what are your views on them, and what is the tension of the strings, how long do they last, can it fit a normal 34 scale bass? I tried asking in the strings site and not much knowledge was gained.

Thanks,
    Andrew

2. Michael Manring

Michael Manring TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Hi Andrew,

I use D'Addario piccolo strings on some of my instruments and they work wonderfully. The set I use, XL 280, is designed for 34" scale. I originally tried a set on a Musicman bass of mine in the early eighties because I was interested in experimenting with altered tunings other than what I could get out of my regular strings. I had so much fun I've been using them ever since. I use many different tunings, so the tension varies, but don't be afraid to just put them on a bass and see what happens. If you end up liking them and want to keep the bass set up that way, you may want to adjust your truss rod and perhaps even replace the nut and bridge saddle pieces, but that's generally not a big deal. I find that piccolo strings last a little longer than regular gauge bass strings, but I'm not sure why. I change them about half as often as I change the strings on my basses that are set-up for conventional gauges.

3. arose11

arose11

Sep 30, 2002
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Thanks! Thats excatly the answer I wanted!
    Rock on,
    Andrew

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002