1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pick - how large hand movements?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SwiftyTom, Jul 19, 2012.

1. SwiftyTom

SwiftyTom

Oct 7, 2011
    I'm relatively new to playing with pick, started a few months back. I'm trying to figure out a proper technique now. I've seen lots of videos where people move their whole arm quite a lot, pretty much as if they were strumming all strings on a guitar. I suppose it's easier to keep a steady rhythm with this, but how does one prevent the other strings from ringing? Shall I mute them and not care about striking them? Or is this technique more accurate than it looks and the pick actually only goes down for that one string?

What I do now is that I only move my hand at the wrist, so the pick is like a little pendulum above the string, striking it in the middle vertical position. But sometimes the pick gets kinda stuck, I guess if I don't get the angle perfect, and throws off the rhythm a bit. Also it's very sensitive to how firmly I hold the pick. That's why I'm wondering if there's a better way.

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
  3. BullHorn

BullHorn

Nov 23, 2006
    Israel
    Sub'd for reading them tips when I get home. Thanks, brah.

4. SwiftyTom

SwiftyTom

Oct 7, 2011
    So static arm is the way to go, cool. Still makes me wonder how do the punk bassists do it, when they swing the whole arm :)