Pick or Fingers?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DaPhotoGuy, Jun 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaPhotoGuy

Jun 15, 2004
    Omaha, NE
    My first post so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I've played guitar for quite a few years now. I recently started playing bass (Peavey Grind 5 BXP NTB). It feels natural to use a pick on the bass the same way I would with my guitar. Will I be limited to what I will eventually be able to play if I continue using a pick? Would most experts suggest learning a two or three finger technique? Just want to start down the right road with bass playing.
  2. tim99

tim99 Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2003
    It is not a stupid question, but it is one of the most asked "first posts" questions, so we get tired of covering it.

I just did a search for threads with [pick and fingers] in the title of the post and came up with 16 posts that cover this exact topic. Use the "Search" function above this post, go to Advanced Search, pull down to Search Titles Only...

You need to learn to use both a pick and your fingers, but the punk rock bass picking method is not alternate picking, it is all downstrokes, so...no, do not use a pick with bass just like you did with guitar.

Oh, and two fingers, 1 and 2, alternate fingering...

3. dabshire

Dec 15, 2002
    McKinney, TX
    First, welcome to Talk Bass. Lots and lots of good info here.

Second, when I started playing bass, I played with a pick. I now play with my fingers (index and middle alternating). I switched because I liked the sound I got finger style better than the sound I got with a pick. It's really up to you, and it all comes down to which sound you like more. But, it never hurts to know both, incase you want to switch back and forth.

Whether Pick or Fingers are better or worse is all opinion. It's like asking, "Which is better blue or green?" Don't let anyone make you feel bad because you do one or the other.

Again, welcome!