Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pick Players Which Pick do you prefer Scientific Pick ?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by twilightcall, Nov 14, 2005.

1. twilightcall

twilightcall

May 27, 2004
    I mostly play with a pick and I was wondering what picks you guys use. I know many will say the one that is in my pocket or any pick but I would like some answers from people who have experimented with many picks. I have been playing with picks for many years and I have experimented with many different picks. I can hear the difference between most of the pics I use. I have always been slightly unhappy about hearing a clicking sound when playing due to using a pick. Sometimes too much clicking. I was wondering if there maybe a better choice in a pick to reduce this sound and bring out a smoother tone. Any info would be appreciated.

2. Mixmasta J

Mixmasta J

Dec 4, 2004
    hard rubber picks

somewhat warm tone like fingers, but still a pick for fast playing

3. MarztekMilita

MarztekMilita

Feb 10, 2005
    Pinole
    I personally like the Jim Dunlop Gator Grip. when they come fresh out of the pacage they have this wierd powder on them, but it stays in place so easly. oh , and 1.5 MM picks, the 2.0 MM are a bit to thick.

4. 6-3-2

6-3-2

Sep 20, 2003
    I like the Dunlop Tortex 1.00mm. They have a fairly clear, even attack. The notes are well defined with this pick.

5. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    Yeah, I've been using a rubber Wedgie pick lately. Both the 3.1mm Hard and 5.0mm Hard picks. No clicking with those. ;)

6. twilightcall

twilightcall

May 27, 2004
    Thanks guys. Does anyone have a pic of a rubber pic. I have never seen one. I looked on Ebay and didn't find one. Where do you get them? Thanks.

7. I use Fender Heavy tortoise shell (celluloid), in the big triangle shape. Gives me plenty to grab onto.