1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pick??

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by pipogpop, Sep 16, 2010.

1. pipogpop

pipogpop

Jan 26, 2010
    Denmark
    Hey Everybody

I just started playing with a pick on my bass guitar :)

And i want to ask what thickness is best?

Greatings
    Pipogpop

2. Hmm, maybe a more info about what style you are playing, how fast you want to play, what feels most comfortable for you?

If you want a lot of attack, go for rigid picks (= the thickest).
    If it is speed you are after, go for very flexible picks (= the thinnest).

Try some different thicknesses and feel what feels the most comfortable for you.

3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Retired Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    When I use a pick, I use a Fender thin.

4. Lowpro

Lowpro

Sep 25, 2006
    Birmingham, AL
    Aint that the question;

It comes down to what you feel comfortable with. I used all kinds like the Tortex .88s and .73s (The yellow ones) both is stubby and sharp.

I currently use Clayton 80mm and after rummaging through my coffeecup of picks I've found even more; coolpicks at 60mm, Snarlin' Dog Brainpicks from .70 to 1mm in thickness.

So let me put it this way; the range is vast because everyone uses all kinds of ranges. I suggest experimenting with all of them; from a use standpoint I suggest staying away from those clear plastic purple Dunlops (usually they're thick) my strings ripped those things to shreds; I had purple plastic dust all over my fingers after an hour or so.

Also I find myself swapping between really thin and really thick; it doesn't take much to get a sound using pick and it's REALLY EASY to play too hard and get stuck with one sound dynamic (a reason I don't really like thicker picks these days) but thick ones really do make my Spector sound crunchier.