Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

PickGuards for P's

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Quadzilla, Feb 13, 2002.

1. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Hey everyone,

I'm a Noob here so please excuse my ignorance. I want to replace my pcik guard on my 98 P bass (pictured in the attachement). My questions are:
    - where can I buy one online
    - Do I go with the real deal Fender or should I try the Stuart MacDonald one that I saw. Is the quality and nounting the same as the Fender ones?
    - My 98 P Bass has a "thumb holder" (is that what it's called?) to the upper left of the pickups (please see attached pic). I want to get rid of this. Will there be an issue because the mounting screws appear to be larger than the ones holding the pick gaurd on and it appears that if I get a new pick guard without the the mounting hold for this "thumb hold" will it work and will the smaller screws go into this whole, etc????

Thanks much!!!!

2. Quadzilla

Opps, here it is.....
    :D :D :D

3. PJR

PJR

Jun 20, 2001
    N.E. PA
    ...it's usually referred to as a 'Thumb rest' ....

Another alternative (that I've used) for pg's is WD Music .

They have lots of choices ......

Good Luck :D

PJR

here's your pic :

[​IMG]

4. I just got a SWEET tort. shell p-bass pickguard from a place in Mass. called www.Guitarstop.com

The woman who helped me as super nice and responsive. I highly recommend them! I placed my order and received the pickguard in 3 days.

Personally I like the thumb rest as I just put one on my p-bass. Maybe I'll take it off one day, but for now I like it.

Later -
    K.

5. y0 :D

The thumbrest thingy is easy..
    just get a new pickguard + screws.
    remove the old pickguard, and put the new one ( minus the thumbrest ) on :)