Picking out a new bass guitar!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ArtieCarvalho, Aug 6, 2013.

1. ArtieCarvalho

ArtieCarvalho

Aug 6, 2013
    :help:
    As of right now I am a mediocre bassist (only been playing for about a year and a half now), and I'm stuck with a Soundgear by Ibanez SR250. It gets the job done, but it's quite uncomfortable, plastic feeling (given the price and quality) and generally displays an unpleasant tone during live settings. I've had a Squier by Fender Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass SS (Short Scale) previously, which I regret greatly in returning. My main problem is faced with wanting to play short scale. I am 5'4" and I have tiny hands, and when I picked up a Fender Mustang Bass for the first time, it felt quite amazing, smooth and comfortable. However, I've used a friends Squier by Fender Vintage Modified Jazz Bass 70's guitar and the tone and versatility was top notch for its price. Generally, what I've researched is that the Mustang Bass is described as a "mini-P bass", if you will. I enjoy being the basement for certain songs, but I also enjoy being able to crawl out of the muck and cut through with a clear mid-bright tone as well. So, to rap up my question, should I buy a Fender Mustang Bass or a Fender Jazz Bass? I want to be able to be low, but bright at times (which I presume has more to do with EQing or strings than anything, but I am unsure). The Fender Jazz Bass has an amazing tone, but at the expense of being uncomfortable. If you'd recommend a Fender Mustang Bass, I'd like to know why and which series, same goes for the Fender Jazz Bass. Regardless I am going to keep the Soundgear by Ibanez SR250 incase I may want to play something in dropped tuning, and maybe later down the road I'll upgrade when I have some extra cash. If you'd recommend a different kind of brand, feel free to fill me in with suggestions. Thank you for time. :)

2. ncapone

ncapone

Nov 17, 2010
    Out of those two, sounds like you need a Jazz Bass.