1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Picking Up My Second (1st REAL) Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Double the Beef, Apr 8, 2009.

1. Double the Beef

Double the Beef

Apr 7, 2009
    I started playing bass a couple months ago on my father's 40 year old Greco Paul McCartney Beatles Bass. To sum it up its a POS. The frets are worn down, the bridge is crooked, the bass is buzzy (not user error), and it has loads of electrical problems. I want to pick up a bass under $400. After looking for countless hours at the mess load of different basses, I think I may get a Yamaha BB414. Seems like a good choice after reading the great reviews of it here. Should I pull the trigger? Any other suggestions? Im going to be playing classic rock and hard rock but I would really like to play funk, jazz, and groove to some disco tunes, although I cant slap yet. Thanks in advance!

p.s Why do some colors cost $100 more than others? I have my eye on the wine red version but its $100 more than the orange and I dont think a color justifies that much money unless there is some other reason for the price increase.
    EDIT: BB414 vs BB616? I hear that the preamp is poor on the 616 but is having the preamp still a +?

2. Double the Beef

Double the Beef

Apr 7, 2009
    bump

3. LCW

LCW Banned

Mar 2, 2009
    OREGON!
  4. RCCollins

RCCollins Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2008
    San Diego, California
    a bb414 is a great choice for the cash, but your 400 may go further in the tb classifieds... lots of reliable guys selling great basses in very price range and the values are great

5. mytmous

mytmous

Mar 10, 2008
    Cincinnati, Ohio