Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Picking

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Ketch27, Jun 19, 2002.

1. Ketch27

Ketch27

May 4, 2001
    IL
    Ok. I'm decent at most styles of bass playing (slap, fingerstyle, thumb, etc.) but I blow at playing with a pick. I've tried different picks but that was no use. I know I have to practice and all, but is there anything I can do to improve my speed and whatnot with a pick? Like some kind of drills or something? I want to be a well rounded musician, so I wanna be about to play with a pick as well as my hand.

2. Hi there..

Hey.. I'm not very good at picking either but I'm not really interested at it. I don't like playing with a pick, but have nothing against people who does.. SOme of my fav rock bands' bassplayers play with a pick.. (Sevendust, tool, glassjaw)

Well.. the things is that you don't have to play with a pick if you cant.. Try using more fingers.. Practice playing with your ring finger, and if you succeed start using you pinky fingertoo.

3. lo-end

lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    PA
    Take some guitar lessons. A guitar teacher will give you picking exercises every week to help you with your technique.

I had a pretty hard time teaching myself how to use a pick. A teacher would save you a lot of time and effort.

4. SCH

SCH

May 3, 2002
    San Antonio, Texas
    My situation was the opposite. I started with a pick, and had to teach myself how to play finger style (which I now prefer).

When you're using a pick make sure that you are not just using down-strokes (or just up-strokes). Alternate between them. Practice doing alternating down and up stroke quarter notes on one string at a time, and slowly build up from there to doing simple scales, etc.

I had to use the exact same concept to learn finger-style (strictly alternating between two fingers). It'll come if you keeping plugging away at it.