Pickup-advice concerning fanning.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Roland777, Sep 21, 2006.

1. Roland777

Roland777

Jun 1, 2006
    Sweden
    Hey there. I'm currently drawing up a sketch for an extended range bass, and there is one aspect I've gotten stuck on - pickups. Given the scale difference on the bass (35-39 inches) and the uneven distribution of the difference between the bridge and nut, ("1.5 fan at the nut, "2.5 fan at the bridge) I'm wondering what my options are pickupwise. Given the fact that I'm a complete bass-pickup newbie, I've come here to ask you for advice.

http://files.upl.silentwhisper.net/upload5/BasspickupSlant.jpg

Here's a detailed version of the exact dimensions and specifications of spacing and all at the bridge. Now, what pickups can I use that are wide enough? And further on, I wonder what pickup I can use that has sonic properties closest to those of a Bartolini Mk1? (Since that is the only point of reference I have, given the fact that I'm very happy with their performance in my BTB555)
    Finally, given the fact that the bass is designed to be tuned around the sub-octave E area, I'd like your recommendations to be able to handle low-end well.
    I know I'm asking quite a bit for something that's just a mental creation at this point, but I'd love to get some professional feedback.

2. Phil Mastro

Phil Mastro

Nov 18, 2004
    Montréal
    I've had a pickup made by Nordstrand to solve such a problem. It's not cheap, but for the quality, it's still a pretty good deal. Here's a pic of said pickup to give you ideas in case you need some.

[​IMG]

Apparently it was the first pickup with that shape that ever came out of their shop. Maybe I shouldn't be showing this then... :bag:

3. Roland777

Roland777

Jun 1, 2006
    Sweden