Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pickup for an Ibanez SR?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by nate22, Jan 1, 2005.

1. nate22

nate22

May 5, 2004
    First and foremost...I tried searching for answers...didn't come up w/ much. SR485(5string soundgear)

Right now, still have stock DX5 pickups and I'm definitely looking to upgrade :)

Someone told me EMG's or bartolini's.

Any recommendations on what style?

biggest question.... I've got 5 control knobs....volume, sweep, bass,treble, and mids....

I have no knowledge on the guts of my bass...which knobs will I have to swap w/ the new pickups? God..I must sound a complete idiot...please have patience.

Thanks for the help in advance!

2. nate22

nate22

May 5, 2004
    TTT

I know somebody's got the answer...have mercy on a curious soul? :D

3. I once had an Ibanez SR1000 from I think it was late 80's or early 90's (wish I never got rid of it, only Ibanez I have ever liked) which came with EMG's in stock. I don't know which kind but man oh man... go EMG's

4. Minger

Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    0.o

Stock EMGs?

My Ibanez RB800 from the 80s just says Ibanez on the pickups...guess no EMGs unlike you :p

5. someone on here (or 2 people) told me the 1000's came with them... :confused:

6. Stephen Soto

Stephen Soto

Oct 12, 2003
    Bartolini's came on my SR3005, sound insanely good.

7. nate22

nate22

May 5, 2004
    Ok..it's definitely a toss up between Bartolini's and EMG's....

Next question? I want J-pickups, right? And will I have to switch out all my knobs(volume,sweep,bass,mid,treble)??

I promise..I'm almost done :D