pickup problem or something else?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jean06, Aug 31, 2018.

1. jean06

jean06

Aug 29, 2018
    Hi Guys,

I recently got a squier PJ bass from 2018 for 20 dollars, but unfortunately it has a problem. While the bridge jazz pickup seems to work fine, the mid precision pickup seems to have a problem. Indeed, out of this pickup I barely got any sound coming out; there is definitely a little something, but really low, I would say it is 1/20 compared to the jazz pickup. I would like to know if you guys have an idea of what the problem could be ? Also, I have never done that before, but when I opened the bass, everything seemed to be connected and there was no obvious problem. I am wondering whether it is the pickup or just a bad connection ? I would like to know a bit more before going to guitar center or sam ash and hear that it is gonna cost me 150 dollars, when it could cost me 10 dollars ....

Also, you can hear the sound from the bridge jazz pickup I get when plugging the bass in the DI input of my audio interface here, DI talk bass.mp3 , let me know if this sound alright to you, or if this one might have a problem too.

Best,
    Jean

2. Ok, the J pickup works, does the tone control work with the jazz pickup?

Really in a passive bass if one pickup works, about the only two things it could be is the other pickup and or it’s associated volume control. I’d try connecting the pickup directly to an output jack to check it but, I’m guessing, you’re drawing a blank when I say that. If you can have the bass plugged into an amp with the pickguard off, you could try wiggling the wires connected to that volume control, preferably with a string vibrating. If you get intermittent noise or the sound of the string that would indicate a solder joint or volume pot.

I’m sure someone else will come up with some testing ideas.

3. jean06

jean06

Aug 29, 2018
    Hi Matt,
    Thanks for your answer.