1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pickups gone bad - really?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bssist, Oct 31, 2010.

1. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Hello,

I have found a(nother) hole in my knowledge, and the local "experts" seem to have less understanding than I. Can anyone here enlighten me?

I have a 1990 SR800 that I have been playing since 1991. Over the last 6 months it slowly developed a slight distortion (a cool sounding slight drive that added character). Lately I noticed that it has become full on breakup of the tone when I dig in, and it is very pronounced on the E and A strings. Figuring the preamp was shot I upgraded to the NTMB-918F. Alas the problem is in the pups themselves.

Does anyone know just what is inside that chunk of epoxy? What might have gone bad and why? With no power to them the E/A side rings but the D/G side is dead (on both the P and the J). When the battery is hooked up I get the performance described above (even wired straight to the amp - no onboard controls of any kind).

Can anyone enlighten me?

Thanks!

2. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    Did you change the battery?

3. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    :D

Yes. Good alkaline battery @ 9.08v. (the fuse is good and it is plugged in, and the power switch is turned to "on" too ;) ).

4. danomite64

danomite64

Nov 16, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    I have a set of those LO-Z's if you're looking to replace them with stock pickups.

5. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Yes, I really dig the tone they had. How much?

6. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA