1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

pine table top refinishing advice sought

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by yodedude2, Jan 5, 2012.

1. yodedude2

yodedude2 Supporting Member

twenty bucks at a garage sale bought me an older pine table for my dining room. i have the top sanded down with 80 grit. what next? i know i want some sort of natural, non-painted surface. my main concerns, in order of importance, are: durability / low or no maintenance / appearance.

keep in mind i have no special knowledge or tools...and want to keep this project on a low (lowe's) budget.

thanks y'all!

2. nortonrider

nortonrider

Nov 20, 2007
    Sand it again with 220 grit.
    Then I would just rub it down with tung oil.
    (pretty cheap, easy to maintain)

3. MatticusMania

MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

Sep 10, 2008
    Pomona, SoCal
    "In the pines, in the pines, where the sun dont ever shine, and I'll shiver the whole night through..."

I'd give it a nice stain and finish it up with a poly coat, after sanding it as nortonrider suggests.

4. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    Pine is pretty soft wood, so you might want a hard coat on it, depending on how much wear and tear it's going to see. Stain + multiple thin spray clear coats would work.
    On the other hand, I like my natural pine desk (old kitchen table, too) with an ancient clear coat, because it shows all the wear and tear it's been through.

If you want a quick and easy finish, wood wax is my favorite product. It's pretty much just spread on, wipe excess off, let dry. It's available in multiple see-through colors/stains, and it has pretty good penetration into the wood like stain or oil does, so small dents don't show the lighter color beneath.

5. yodedude2

yodedude2 Supporting Member