Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pinkey Salute

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jifdeng3, Mar 2, 2005.

1. jifdeng3

jifdeng3 Guest

Nov 30, 2003
    Charleston SC
    Ok, I have done a search and I cannot find an answer to this. How can I train my pinkey (and index occasionally) finger to stay down on the fretboard, and not stick straight out? I have been "playing" for a couple months, but I am trying to get serious now, and this problen is annoying. I do have control of it to fret notes, I just cannot keep it down! Help!! :confused:

2. ((ZASDER))

((ZASDER))

Feb 26, 2005
    Buffalo NY
    Im a newbie as well...I also started playing a couple months ago and my teacher said when your not playing bass or your like just sitting there watching the tv place your hand palm down and try getting to know your fingers by lifting them speratly them in pairs and get them independent.

When im playing I use to have the same problem but its gone away since I practice a lot.....

Also try playing walking bass lines... I actually just learned this but its extremly hard becasue my fingers arent long enough

G---------------7-8--
    D-----------5-6-----
    A------7-8----------
    E--5-6--------------

For the 5th frets only use your index
    6th - middle
    7th - ring
    8th - pinkie

Now the hard part... place index on the 5th and keep your finger down then play the 6th middle keeping your fingers down....and keep going...Keep all four fingers down! and only move the one needed to be moved. Start out slow you will get it. The hardest part is moving your ring to G -7 Without moving your pinkie from A -8 but I was told your fingers will stretch and what not to get all good.

Hope that helps.

3. ireidt

ireidt

Mar 6, 2005
    Florida