Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pirastro Flat-cromosteel.. your Opinion ?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Istar, Apr 29, 2005.

1. Istar

Istar

Apr 5, 2005
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Hi Guys,

I’ve been playing the Double Bass for 2 years now and I love it. The strings I’m using now are Pirastro Flat-chromosteel wich came on the bass when I bought it. I think they have a great sound. I play about 65% Arco vs. 35% pizz. And I was wondering what you guys think of these strings, and If you don’t like them why and what do you suggest ?

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I have them. They're OK but I'm not too psyched about them. The E that I had was awful (may have been NOS) and the A was weak against the Spirocore E. I'll be back to all Spiros ASAP.

My overall impression is that they are like older Spiros after they've died on me, without the pitch problems of the dead Spiros. They don't have the fundamental or the punch, which is a bummer as I like the darker sound.

I wouldn't recommend against someone trying them, but I don't think I'll buy anymore of them. The D and G would be good strings for someone that like Spiros but has a bass that is too, too bright on top.

My 2p.

3. Andy Allen

Andy Allen "Working Bassist"

Aug 31, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    I recently put on a set, on Chasarms recommendation, and after two weeks of practice and gigs I'm fairly pleased (I have three more gigs this weekend and was going to do my write-up after that, but I doubt anything will change). They are *way* better than the Obligatos that I replaced, and I prefer the feel/tension over the Corelli 370s I had before those.