Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pissing Contest

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Robbi, Jan 6, 2003.

1. I've noticed other bass players in the area (mine anyway) always want to "race" when playing live as if they were in the vs mode in Mortal Combat or some Bull****.
    It's what I call the "Lick and Look" disease that these guys have.
    They play a LICK that they think is hotter than catching a Nuclear bomb, then they give you a LOOK like they should be crowned for it.
    Then you get them saying negative stuff about your playing, and how much you suck to people who know you, that they don't know you know and of coarse it gets back to you.

Don't get me wrong, I can hold my own, I've been playing seriously for about 10 years now, and am quite confidant of my skills... but if groups of bands get along, genuinely, and not in direct competition,the local scenes would improve. How about a mutual respect for each others abilities?
    There will always be somebody better than you, and always somebody not as good as you. That's a fact.

In my opinion, these sorts of 'Lick and Look' situations happen when someone feels inferior, and has somthing to prove.

Please discuss with me.

: )

saving my fingers for the bass now, panting and out of breath, I'm going for a smoke, I had to get that off of my chest.
    ( I think that rhymed )

R :confused:

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Remember "Bass-off" on SNL? ;) :D

3. Exedore

Exedore

Nov 15, 2002
    Pasadena, Ca, USA

4. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Man I miss that bottomless lemonade that they really refilled.

;)

Peace
    Nick

5. fclefgeoff

fclefgeoff Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2002
    Illinoize