1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pitch pirate

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by flakeh, Jun 23, 2007.

1. flakeh

flakeh Inactive

Apr 21, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    Hello, I'm trying to find some info about the Pitch pirate, Firstly, what is its main function? I'm new to the concepts of pitch shifter and all that.

secondly, Who makes it?

sorry for my incompetence, I'm the new guy

2. 343 Salty Beans

343 Salty Beans

Jan 24, 2006
    A pitch pirate is a crazy vibrato.

A vibrato is basically something that takes your signal and modulates it up and down in pitch. It usually has a rate knob, which allows you to control how fast it modulates up and down. It also usually has a depth knob, determining how far away from the original note it will sweep back and forth. The pitch pirate shifts really far, and is mostly for making noise. Here's a link to the product description (naughty words in it), which includes sound samples.

http://www.noisefx.com/product_details/midfi_electronics_pitch_pirate_fx0253

3. i really love my pitch pirate, it's a crazy chorus and vibrato.

You get 4 controls on it:

Speed
    Wave Shape (goes from a harsh one to a smooth one?)
    Chorus --> Vibrato blend, goes from chorus at one end and vibrato at the other, with mixtures of both inbetween. (older models have a flick switch for chorus or vibrato)
    Depth can get very very crazy

I keep mine in the loop of my Barge Concepts VFB-2, works brilliantly with the feedback loop.

4. jucas

jucas

Dec 14, 2003
    Alberta
    Hmmm... they used to have a pretty weak description of the pitch pirate up. It actually sounds a lot more entertaining than I thought initially... it gets close to whole octave "vibrato"... I'm impressed.