Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Place for thumb?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bassplayerjojo, Mar 9, 2002.

1. I was wondering where everyone puts their thumb while playing. I've been recently anchoring it on the corner of the pickup, but I find that the angle can be a little awkward sometimes. But when I don't anchor it there, I can get the "Umph" I want because I have less power in my fingers. So lets hear it. =)
    Thanks.

2. Mellem

Mellem

Feb 1, 2002
    Greenville, MI
    I found that same problem. I anchor my thumb on the pickup when I have to, because I'm not very good at floating. But, I plan to buy a thumbrest for my next bass that my step-dad said he would help me screw on.

3. Id like to get better at floating, I guess practice is the only way to do it. It doesn't really feel comfortable to me right now, but I think once I get it down it will be far better than just resting on the pickup.

4. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    Mexico
    John Entwistle = Floating Hand King

he's so friggin awesome

5. i have rather big hands.. so my thumb stays rocksolid on top of the upper right corner ( player's view ) of the pickup, and i can reach all strings without any problems.

6. When I played a four string I usually anchored my thumb behind the pickup. In fact I did this so much that I actually wore a hole past the paint finish and into the wood of my bass.

I am now playing mainly five string basses and I've found that the floating technique helps a lot with muting strings you don't want to ring. If I play on the A, D, or G string I use the floating technique but I usually fall back to anchoring my thumb on the pickup if I'm playing on the E or B string. I will then use my left hand to mute any strings I'm not playing.