Planning on moving out in the near future...need advice.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by jrthebassguy, Sep 8, 2010.

1. Let me give you guys a run down of my situation. I graduated college in May, and found a fairly decent job in June (decent considering the economy and how quickly I found it, anyway). I'm by no means breaking the bank but I now make a wage where I should be able to live fairly comfortably on my own. As such, I've begun storing money away and am looking at apartments.

So here's the deal - I just recently turned 24 and have never lived anywhere other than with my parents. I realize this is may seem pretty late for a lot of you, but the deal I made with my parents was that if I didn't move out of the house for college, they'd pay for my entire tuition and books. This means the only debt I have is about ~$600 of credit card debt (not including car note), which I'm aggressively paying both off now that I'm employed.

Because of my inexperience, there's a lot I don't know going into this, and I don't want to be in a situation where I'm broke in 6 months and have to come back home looking like an idiot. So, I have a few questions.

-Picking an apartment - How do I know if I can truly afford the place? Is there a % of income to go by as a rule of thumb? Obviously, I'd rather live in a nicer apartment, but if I have to live off of ramen to afford my rent, then that's probably not the best option.

-How much should I realistically save before moving out?

-Any other general tips or moving out stories that could provide insight.

-My credit is pretty decent for a 24 year old (never missed a payment on anything ever) but I'm sure could still use a boost. Any advice on that front?

Thanks guys! :)

2. Subrage

Subrage

Oct 30, 2006
    Kansas City
    If you can and willing stay a few months or so and try and pay off your car. 2-500 a month makes life a lot easier.

Most apt complex's have specials.