1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Planning Stages

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Gabeja15, Apr 16, 2009.

1. Hey guys, I'm relatively new here and being overseas without a bass for the last four some-odd months has me a bit stir crazy. So, I've been laying out the plans for a new project which i can hopefully begin on my return in a month and a half should money decide to finally grace me with its presence.

Now technically this is my first build of any sorts, but i'm pretty skilled at woodwork, have more then enough equipment at my disposal, and have done enough tinkering with my Frankenstein project guitar to have already made almost any mistake possible.

So I turn to the infinite resources of Talkbass to go over my design and firm up the plans.

since this is a first project I'm going to keep it simple, which is great, because i love simple.

-51' slab body P-bass in Black Limba
    I can make this myself, pretty straight forward, no body
    contours etc.
    -Black elephant ear tuners and barrel knobs from guitarfetish
    -Black single string economy bridges from Allparts
    Anyone know if these are decent, they sure look cool but
    i would rather just put a badass on it then take a
    gamble
    -51' style single coil
    Some recommendations on this one would be helpful,
    although i've heard good things about Lindy Fralin's