Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Plateau

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Headtripus, Feb 23, 2003.

1. Hi Michael,

I've been playing bass for about 8 months. I'm learning very quickly (That's other musicians I know's observation, not just big-headed me) because I'm passionate and dedicated. But I don't know where to go from where I stand now.

My situation:
    -Technically I'm very skilled, but I need to work on timing and rythm
    -I play both with and without a pick
    -The only bass theory I know of is the "Introduction to bass theory" post that's really popular on this site.

So I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction, whether it be literature I should read (I live a $1 train ride from the Berkley College of Music in Boston) or bassists I should study and emulate or anything else you think would benefit me.

Thank you for your time,
    Mike Brewster

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Mike,
    I totally understand your position. Reaching a plateau is a tough place for anybody. I think that every member here as felt that feeling.

My advice to you would be as follows:

1. Consider getting a teacher if you don't already have one. A good teacher does more than provide information. A good teacher provides inspiration, motivation and opens new horizons. I think Lucas Pickford lives near Boston (www.lucaspickford.com )

2. Expand your own horizons. Listen to new music, stuff you might not ever consider listening to. Try to transcribe and analyze this music. Transcribe and analyze the music that you prefer as well.

3. Study the music of another instrument. Listen to the harmony of the piano or the melodic ideas of a sax.