Play in a different key? Transposing?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by btrag, Nov 15, 2005.

1. btrag

Mar 7, 2005
    I'm self taught on theory, so, I second-guess a lot of things I read in theory books. So, I understand that for something to be in the key of A, it will contain chords from the A maj. scale: A Bm C#m D E F#m G#dim.

Let's say a song is in A, and it's chord progression is: I, V, II, V, VII, I.

Someone says, play this tune in the key of C now. Would the chord prog. now be: C, G, Dm, G, Bdim, C ?

Is that right? Is this what it means to transpose a song?
  2. Its chord progression in C would be: I, V, II, V, VII, I.

Just kidding, you're correct. C G Dmin G Bdim C

3. WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005
    I don't think so. If the chords are really "I, V, II, V, VII, I" then that would be A major, E major, B major, E major, G# major, A major" in the key of "A" and "C major, G major, D major, G major, B major, C major" in the key of C.

If the chords are "I, V, ii, V, vii*, I," Then the chords in C would be C major, G major, D minor, G major, B diminished. In A: "A major, E major, B minor, E major, G# diminished, A major."

(* = degree sign)
  4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

The V should be a dominant 7th ....?
  5. btrag

Mar 7, 2005
    Will, that seems to be what I posted. How am I incorrect? And, should the fifth be a dominant? I read that it was a staight minor chord.
  6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

7. christoph h.

christoph h.

Mar 26, 2001
    will is introducing another factor: the notation of the roman numbers.

if a roman number is written in capital letters, it refers to a major chord -> III (relative to C) = E major.
    "iii" on the other hand refers to E minor in that context.

it is however very common to use all capital letters to refer to the degrees of the scale.