1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Played "OUT" for the first time today!!!!

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by IotaNet, Apr 8, 2006.

1. :hyper: :hyper:

All of you seasoned bassists may not be impressed but as a 44-year old newbie, I'm kinda geeked!

I have been piddling around on bass for a bit over a year --trying to get good enough to start playing in church. I finally found a nice church with cool musicians who were willing to work with/teach me.

Attended my first rehearsal this afternoon and for the first time, I actually played in front of somebody besides my mirror! The coolest part was playing live music with live people (a drummer and an organist on a B3) -- what a rush!!!

I learned today that I have a long way to go and it was only practice. It will be a while before I am "performance ready" but it was also nice to be able to interact with people musically. It was a real blast and I just had to share it!

2. MjaMjo

MjaMjo

Jan 1, 2006
    Congratulations man, that's great!
    I hope you're gigworthy soon, as playing in front of a crowd for the first time will be even better, I assure you!

Way to go :)

3. Mr_Dave

Mr_Dave

Mar 11, 2005
    Melbourne, Australia
    Employee - Basscentre Melbourne
    Thats great!

It really inspires me that you are so inspired! :D

4. incubus2432

incubus2432

Mar 21, 2002
    Grafton, Ohio
    That's very cool and the coolest part is yet to come. Playing in front of an audience is always a thrill.....it simply never gets old and is exciting every time.

5. Dan Knowlton

Dan Knowlton Sarcasm: Just ONE of the many services I offer! Gold Supporting Member

Aug 12, 2002
    Palm Coast, FL
    Cool!!! I quit playing drums and switched to bass at church about 7 years ago. Never looked back.