Playing a standard strung right-handed upright bass left handed...?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Ryanetics, Apr 7, 2017.

1. Ryanetics

Ryanetics

Apr 7, 2017
    Hi all, I'm a lefty bass guitarist. Been playing that way for about 25 years now so too late to turn back!

After a lot of reading, discussions, and hours of playing in the stores, I decided that I was going to play a right-handed bass, strung right-handed, left handed. It seems to me that a) it's a different enough instrument that I don't have to rewire my brain to try to play it, and b) being "cursed" a lefty I am WAY better at playing right-handed guitars upside down and lefty than you probably are! ;)

Thus, it hasn't really been difficult for me at all to go back and forth between my left-handed electric bass guitar, and my right-handed upright bass (with my left hand plucking).

So far, so good, it seems. I don't have to modify a righty or spend extra bucks on a custom lefty. And the HUGE benefit of eliminating the "oh I wish I could jam with you guys on that bass that isn't mine... but I'm left-handed".

BUT, am I setting myself up for failure down the road here? Is there anything I am not seeing in the future playing-wise that will make me regret this decision? Keeping in mind that I AM A LEFTY and there's no changing that now! And, I'm not looking to play in an orchestra any time soon. Just blues, bluegrass, country, maybe some jazz, the standard pizz and slap stuff.

Thoughts? And thanks! My first post!

LeftyStrings likes this.
  2. rufus.K

rufus.K Supporting Member

Oct 18, 2015
    SoCal
    We lefties have to endure ... keep at it

LeftyStrings and Ryanetics like this.
  3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts