1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Playing after 15 frets - what do you play with your bass?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by gusrb5, Jun 8, 2020.

1. gusrb5

gusrb5

Apr 12, 2013
    South Korea
    I have a BB bass and I found it is hard to play freely after 15 frets because of its design.
    But as a beginner I have no problems right now, but am curious about what people actually play after 15 frets. What do you play with your bass - Solos? Or chords?

Ellery likes this.
  2. rufus.K

rufus.K Supporting Member

Oct 18, 2015
    SoCal
    I use the whole neck.

3. Can you describe the problem, exactly? Is it your thumb bumping up against the heel block?

A lot of players work around this problem by respositioning their thumb, when they play in the higher frets. For example have a look at bassist Peter Hook of New Order. When he is playing this song "Ceremony" at the 15th fret, you can see how he moves his thumb around from the back of the neck to the side of the neck. Then when he plays lower notes around the 8th fret, his thumb moves back around into a more standard position.

dmt, Vytor and gusrb5 like this.
  4. bassdude51

bassdude51 "You never even called me by my name." Supporting Member

Nov 1, 2008
    Central Ohio
    After the 15th fret.............I try my best to NEVER go any higher. And really, 1st through 9th fret about 95% of my playing. I chose to play bass for low notes not high notes.

Solos? Chords? Go play guitar!

Pdaddy1978, Rilence, Chris76 and 13 others like this.
  5. gusrb5

gusrb5

Apr 12, 2013
    South Korea