Playing and singing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SacOnBass, Feb 11, 2005.

1. Well, I have the bass part and vocal part down seperately but as soon as I try and put them together I start messing up. Im brand new to this sooo I dont know if its an experience thing or what. It's usually the bass parts where I mess up when the two come together. I think due to the fact that I so worried about the back-up vocal part.

Im would realy like to hear some of your suggestions on solving this issue. Practice techniques, mental preperation etc......Thanks again Guys

2. Just plugging away at it helps. After that, I'd take a look at the trouble spots, the places you always mess up. Chances are, you're a little unsure on either the bass rhythm or the vocal rhythm there, and you need to see exactly how they fit together. Slow down when you're trying to get the pattern. Then just do it a little more. When you mess up, don't stop, keep counting and recover as soon as possible.
  3. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Yep, it is. At least that's been my experience. :)

Some people are gifted enough to be able to do that kind of thing "on the fly", but for most people it takes a bit of work.

I look at it kind of like drumming, where all your limbs can be doing way different things, all at the same time. Me, I can't drum worth beans. And it turns out, I'm a left handed drummer anyway (go figure, with everything else I'm left-brained). :D

It just takes practice. There's usually a "groove" there, to be found. And, some "coordination of the limbs" is needed.

You're right, I usually end up concentrating on the vocals too, especially when I'm first learning a song. But eventually the two parts will merge into a coherent whole.

It can be a really exciting experience when that first happens. :)

Hang in there, and the best of luck and success with your endeavors. :):):)