Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing Confidence

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by Ian Hall, Jul 9, 2002.

1. Ian Hall

Ian Hall

May 31, 2002
    Rialto,CA
    I suppose that I could have asked this in another forum but since I have heard a bit of both of your playing, I figure that one(or both) of you will be able to give me the most meaningful answer. I've been playing for about six years, and near everyone that has heard me play (bassists and other musicians) has said that I am pretty good for how long I havce been playing. I am in a band that just finished a 12 song record which is being mixed right now, and we are accepting bids from five major labels. That doesn't relate to my question except that even with all of that ego boost, I still think I sound like crap. Every recording I do, every song I play, I feel like I'm off time, and I hate my tone. Everyone else says I sound awesome, but I am never happy. Am I just an anal retentive perfectionist with my playing? Is this normal? And finally, at the very high skill level that you have both reached, do you still experience this problem of lacking satisfaction with your playing? I suppose it's the constant pursuit of perfection.:)

Thanks

2. While I'm not Steve or Michael I once read an article on recording bass. It mentions that a bassplayer's perception of his sound is a blend of both his amp and the acoustics of the strings, and for him to be happy about the tone on the recording you have to record the strings and mix a little of that into the final recording.

Check out the article here.

3. Ian Hall

Ian Hall

May 31, 2002
    Rialto,CA