Playing Country

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by The Golden Boy, Mar 15, 2005.

1. I play rock. I've always played rock. I listen to rock. I rock.

Yesterday a friend presented me with an opportunity to play bass in a country band. This is a well established band with a lot of gigs, and the money would be really good. I don't know country, I don't listen to country, for the most part it's kind of irritating to me. But the money would be really good.

The friend who presented this to me is a 70's rock dude. Full on denim jacket, Head East fan club kinda guy. But for the past several years he's been in a few successful country bands. He gave me two pieces of advice:

"Dude, you don't have to be a cowboy, you just have to play one in the band."

"Dude, I've been playing country for 11 years, and I've only hated it for 9."
  2. Is it "new" country? That's just pop music. ;)

Hey, if yer into it, why not? If the pay's good, why not?
  3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Modern country sounds like 70s rock anyway so you shouldn't have a problem with it.
  4. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI
    I can be kinda of a jazz snob at times, although I love classic blues rock, motown etc. But you know what, If someone offered me a good (paying) country gig I'd jump on it. First the best rock gutiar players in the world are playing in country bands, second most of the songs are about more then money and cars (the bling), third, have you seen the women in a country bar lately? Jump on it dude, just don't get distracted by the scenery when your playing those root-fifths!!
  5. Pop music with a drawl. :p

Don't get me wrong- I'll play the hell outta Sister Golden Hair or Amie...

Everything I've heard about the primary band members is nothing but good. But the material...