1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Playing for Free

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bignote, Apr 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bignote

bignote

May 27, 2006
    Okinawa, Japan
    Hey all,
    I have something here that is bugging the heck out of me. When, if ever, is playing for free OK in your book? I just joined a small blues outfit full of great players. They have alot of gigs booked. The problem is every other one is a giveaway.
    Let me give you all some background where I am at on this. I have been playing for more than 30 years. I am now 47. When I was younger and times where evidently different, I made mad money playing my bass in bars, hotels, events and such. Long story short, I have been getting paid to gig since I was 14 in my Dad's country band. In the 90's I was able to make a comfortable living from playing.
    Flash forward to present day. My two kids have graduated college, I have a great paying day gig. I still love playing playing but I just can't reconcile playing for free in my head.
    I am on Okinawa Japan and there is a curfew in effect for the military. NO drinking off base period, plus a midnight curfew. As you can imagine, this has affected the club business seriously. But to play for free? What are your thoughts? BTW, Most club owners and managers here are sleazebags and use reasoning like "But you have a great day job and make good money at it" Thoughts?

2. Playing for free is never ok. Unless someone else is moving all the equipment and picking you up and driving you to and from the show and providing you with free food and drinks. Then maybe its ok.

rymiraflores likes this.
  3. Plucky The Bassist

Plucky The Bassist ZOMG! I'm back from the dead! Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2010
    Houston, TX
    +1