Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

playing high up the neck

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by deadphish, Oct 14, 2004.

1. deadphish

deadphish

Oct 2, 2004
    A guitarist friend of mine recently told me that he hought I played in upper positions on the lower strings too much. He said that I am sacrificng too much tone by playing higher up on the fret board instead of playing in the same notes in lower positions.

I can certainly understand the concept here but I am wondering how much of a big deal this really is. I am mostly self taught so I need to ask the schooled players here if you were taught to play as far down the neck as possible instead of playing in a higher(closer together) position when given the choice.

I know a lot has to do with what type of sound you are going for and your picking technique, but is this as much of a rule of thumb as, say, 1 finger per fret is?

2. adam on bass

adam on bass Supporting Member

Feb 4, 2002
    New Braunfels, Texas
    Endorsing Artist: Spector, GK, EMG and D'Addario
    what do guitar players know. there is a tone thing, but if you dig it, so be it.

3. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Well, it's personal choice, though position switching can be a concern.

I often choose to play notes higher on the heavier strings because the tone can be thicker and more pleasing for a part.

No real rule to it- do what sounds best that allows for smooth playing.

I don't often use one finger per fret below the seventh fret. I can do that, but I prefer the sound of Simandl fingering down low. It's much easier for me to get a consistent sound playing in position that way.

4. Mellem

Mellem

Feb 1, 2002
    Greenville, MI