Playing in a trio

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by kirk498, Oct 1, 2002.

1. kirk498

Jan 17, 2001
    I recently started playing in a trio and wanted to get some feedback on how that style should/will differ from a larger group setting. I've played in bands with 7 members down to 4 people, but never as a trio. Any suggestions on what should be emphasized in this setting? Tricks/tips for helping it to sound full?

2. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    What style of music? What instruments? 'Distortion pedal' might be a good answer for a power rock trio but probably won't cut it with a cool jazz trio.... :oops:

3. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    It doesn't have to sound full. Space is one of the advantages you start to appreciate as a trio.

If you have to fill the space, I highly recommend getting some CDs by Robben Ford & The Blue Line. While some of the tunes have extra instruments, Roscoe Beck does a great job there of filling the space with tasteful fingerstyle and tapped chords.
  4. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    Theres more room so try to fill it. Dont fill it too much. The other non hitting things instrument will dictate how much space and what to do with it.

Piano/keys-a lot of 'modern' keyboardists use a multi timberal jobby. In english this normall means piano and a string pad. Feel the spaces and if they try to play like a concert pianist hit them with something hard.

Guitar-the poodle permers try to fill in too much space with riffs and wonder why it goes pear shaped when they solo. Get them to back off the rhythm and when they solo you get a bit busier.
    Acoustic guitarists tend to root chord jinky jinky through every song so get melodic get high (pitch) and get the fretless out.

Sax flute digeridoo-good luck

hope this helps and hope you get the bits that were meant to be humerous. English dead pan humour doesnt always translate to the www so :D
  5. kirk498

Jan 17, 2001
    Thanks for the feedback fellas.