Playing in the pocket?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Hazy_Dayz, Nov 20, 2003.

1. Hazy_Dayz

Nov 20, 2003
    Long Beach, MS
    I'm new to TB and not familiar with all the lingo. Can someone explain "Playing in the pocket?"
  2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Welcome to TB, Hazy Dayz. I'm not sure if there is an exact definition, but I'll try and explain as best as I can.

"In the pocket" means to be playing a groove that fits the rhythm and feel of a song without adding extras (i.e. fills/runs.) George Porter Jr. of The Meters is a great example of a pocket player.
  3. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    You can add plenty of fills and runs - I'm certainly sure I recall lots of tasty 'extras' from George Porter Jr (great player, BTW) - the art of being in the pocket is that whether or not you choose to add in a bunch of fills, the bassline 'grooves', fitting in with the sense of time being collaboratively created by all the musicians. For example, maybe everyone lays back and plays the first beat of each bar just a fraction late but if you do this together, the 'distortion' of the pulse of the song creates a 'deep pocket'.

It's very subjective... but listen to The Meters and you'll hear what the pocket sounds like :D

4. Slot

Oct 17, 2003
    Sydney - The Shire
    Pocket is where the groove feels so good that it puts a big cheezy grin on your face and it makes you wanna put your bass down so you can get up and dance.

Basically its playing perfect time, but humanized time, not 'mechanical' time.

Listen to Rocco..... Garibaldi's pockets were huuge!!;)
  5. Hazy_Dayz

Nov 20, 2003
    Long Beach, MS
    thanks for the info guys!