Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing Jazz Standards

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by Mikewl, Mar 2, 2004.

1. Hi there. I've only very recently started getting interested in Jazz music, (when I started playing DB 3 months ago) so I haven't been exposed to too many recordings yet. Thus I can play the bass quite well, but my knowledge of actually what I'm playing isn't too good.

Anyway, my question is just about the structure of playing jazz standards. Say, for example, that I'm playing Autumn Leaves, which is in AAB structure. If I'm playing it at a gig with drums, bass, piano and sax, how would the piece actually be played? Would it be one chorus played through with the sax playing the melody, and then another chorus for a sax solo, then another for a piano solo? How many choruses is considered normal for an improvised solo? Basically I've just got no idea how the piece takes shape and is actually played.

Don't know if I made my question clear, but any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot.

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France