Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing over the bridge pickup

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Low_blow, May 15, 2005.

1. Low_blow

Low_blow

May 14, 2005
    About two months ago I bought a Yamaha TRB-5 with two humbucking pickups. The problem is when I start playing over the bridge pickup my fingers start knocking against the pickup cover. How should I set up the bridge PU height? Thanks for an answer.

2. conk97

conk97

May 2, 2005
    redditch, uk
    that happens to me on my 4string tanglewood...it only really happens when im playing fast or when im sitting down.

3. Low_blow

Low_blow

May 14, 2005
    Thanks for your reply. I've been playing Fender Jazz Bass for 6 years and never had such a problem with J-style pickups. What to do with soapbar?

4. conk97

conk97

May 2, 2005
    redditch, uk
    i suppose you could lower the pup...it doesnt bother me 2 much tho...just hurts the tips of my fingers if i play to hard.

On my 5string Ibanez i have humbuckers and they are set nice and low and my fingers go NOWHERE near them..so yeah lower it down a bit :)

5. Guys, this is a question of compromises. You are going to have to make some somewhere because neither of you are going to be able to keep all of these features:

- Proper pup height IF that height is where it is in conflict with your fingers
    - Playing positioned over the pup if the pup MUST remain at that height to have the proper signal strength
    - Use of the same plucking technique IF the pup must stay at it's current height AND you don't intend to move from that playing position.