Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing 'ska'

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by benj0iner2oo3, May 22, 2004.

1. benj0iner2oo3

benj0iner2oo3

May 22, 2004
    U.S.
    I just started playing bass a few months ago and I was wondering if anyone could help me out with playing "ska" music. Any advice or tips you could give me on getting my speed up and keeping my sound smooth would be great.

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Find a horn section, and study ska bass lines would be my advice

3. Spoiled Grape

Spoiled Grape I <3 Darkstar

May 29, 2003
    Riverside, CA
    Depends on what you mean by the word "ska."

Often people misuse the word in applying it towards punk-ska bands like reel big fish, rancid, and less than jake.

if that is what you are talking about, I'd advise you worry more about playing straight punk 8th notes in simple arpeggiations. (sp?)

if you are talking about Two-Tone type ska (aka The Specials, Madness, English Beat) I recommend you work on your disco chops because there is a heavy relationship, especially when it comes to bass.

if you are referring to traditional jamaican ska (the skatalites, desmond dekker, roland alphonso, prince buster) than you will need to work on playing laid back like reggae, except with a walking edge (alot of early traditional ska bass players were heavily influenced by american rnb as well as jazz, and would often steal famous riffs.)

4. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    Listen to alot of early (pre-reggae) Jamacian ska music.

5. josh_m

josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl