1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Playing this bass brought a tear to my eye

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pablo Fanque, Apr 7, 2009.

1. Pablo Fanque

Pablo Fanque

Apr 1, 2009
    I'm a novice (weeks) bass player. I've not yet had a chance to fiddle with more than maybe 15 to 20 different basses.

But I played one of these at Guitar Center and was blown away by the sound and feel.

It's light and has a really really warm sound. It was sooo easy to play. Great action. It's a 1974 Ric 4001.
    [​IMG]

Is it my lack of experience with a variety of basses, or is this bass really that good?

2. southernrocker

southernrocker Banned

Apr 4, 2009
    The bass is awesome. I don't own one, but anything good enough for Geddy and Cliff has to be great.

3. Absentia

Absentia

Feb 25, 2009
    Rics are fantastic I like them better than any fender
    not that I;m a huge fan of fender to begin with.

I;ve got some major GAS for a midnight blue one

4. OneMoreRobot

OneMoreRobot

Jan 23, 2009
    They are really nice, but they're not my cup of tea.

Nothing but my Warmoth is really my cup of tea... But even that could be a little lighter...

5. Dark Horse

Dark Horse Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2008
    Austin, TX
    I love Rics, but they just don't work for me personally. I love the tone, the look, etc but the neck just doesn't feel right in my hands. I've owned 7 or 8 4001/4003 basses in the past, just "hoping" that each one would somehow be different enough to make me keep it - but it never works out for me. Fantastic basses though. I'm jealous of anyone who can "bond" with them.

6. spideyjg

spideyjg

Mar 19, 2006
    San Diego
    The sound brought a tear to your eye and the price tag broke your heart? ;)

Jim

7. Jeff K

Jeff K Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2005
    Memphis, TN