Playing up high.

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by no_poetic_devic, Dec 27, 2002.

1. I just got my new bass and i've been playing it non stop but i have a hard time playing the high notes where the neck goes down past the top of the body (I'm not the best at explaining).
    But i have to kind of wrap my arm around the body and it makes it very difficult to play.
    Anyone have any pointers?
  2. tsolo

Aug 24, 2002
    Ft. Worth
    Oh, they've got lots of pointers - but, I haven't figured it out yet and i've been playing for almost 3 years. Hope you have better luck.
  3. Hello,
    It is called Thumb Position. I have been playing Double Bass for a around two years now and my Teacher has not had do any of that stuff yet. There is alot of dos and donts up there. I assume you dont have a Teacher so the Best thing you can do...Trust me on this get a Good Teacher. I have played Bass for ..oh gee wiz..15 years now and the Double Bass for two and it is not the same. I understand your playing non stop with your new Bass and that is great but....If ANYTHING on your body starts to hurt...stop and relax. Take care my Man and welcome to the Dark Side..

If the world didnt suck we would all fall off.....
  4. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    You don't use your pinky. Your thumb becomes your first finger and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd fingers then fall into line. You probably will have to learn some body english to access that part of the bass, unless you're about 8 feet tall.

A lot of teachers will put off learning TP, but I think students should start learning the entire bass at pretty much the same time. It's no harder than the rest of the bass (and easier for certain things), and becomes an emotional hurdle down the road if put off.

Get a teacher if you don't have one.
  5. Don't go there. You don't belong there. If you insist on playing there without the oversight of a teacher, you are going to screw up your playing, big-time.