Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing Upright and Electric??

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by ba$$88, Jun 14, 2004.

1. ba$$88

ba$$88 Guest

Jun 13, 2004
    I was wondering everyone's opinion on playing upright AND electric bass. Is it better to just pick one and focus on that or should you be able to play both? Thanks in advance :cool:

2. I started out playing the electric bass and did so seriously for 12 years before picking up the upright. I've been playing upright for 5 years now and find most of the gigs I get are for upright. I still do some electric stuff, but I don't practice the electric like I do the upright (I don't practice the EB at all). Personally I find working on the DB to be more than enough for playing the EB, I always need some time to adjust but only about 10 minutes. I don't play anything like Jaco or Victor Wooten on the electric.

3. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Slab is a good sandbox for working things. I often practice things on the Slab so that I can get things under my fingers and in tune.

Playing one won't really detract from the other, but time spent on the Slab won't help you get a sound out of the fiddle, where time on the fiddle won't hurt your electric sound (as long as you remember to lighten up when you go to the shoulder weapon).

4. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    Ditto. Slab's a tool, like a screwdriver. DB is the voice.

5. McBass

McBass

Mar 31, 2004
    Brooklyn, NY
    It depends why you're playing either acoustic or electric.