Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing Violin

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Jay, Feb 17, 2001.

1. Jay

Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH
    Alright, I started playing violin about a week ago. I'm actually doing quite well, I pretty much have the fingering down and the bowing down too. It wasn't very difficult to me at first and that helped to not discourage me. I was wondering how many of you in TBLand play violin and those who do, what tips you could give to a beginner such as myself.

Some areas of advice might include:
    - Articulation
    - Bow Technique
    - Achieving the desired sound quality
    - Where to go from learning scales and such

Thank ya'll...your help is highly appreciated. :)

2. Jay

Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH
    BUMP!!!

Alright, I woulda put this in Technique but it's not exactly bass technique...so somebody's played violin before, I saw it in the "What other instruments do you play?" thread. COME ON!!!!

3. A week and you've got the fingering and bowing down?

Your my new hero!

I started playing violin at the age of six, and started making sense of it by age 8 or 9. Had a pretty good mastering of the instrument by age 15 (I was considered very good).

My advice is to not get too complacent with your technique too fast, because I have to tell you, even the most prolific violinists take a long time to perfect their bowing and fingering techniques. A few tips.

1.) Keep your bow as parallel to the bridge as possible.
    2.) try to maintain even bowing pressure from the tip to the frog of the bow.
    3.) maintain the right amount of rosin on your bow to keep a good "grip"