1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Playing when your mentors and the musicians that helped you are in the crowd

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by OogieWaWa, Nov 17, 2018.

1. OogieWaWa

OogieWaWa

Mar 17, 2013
    Oak Harbor, OH
    This is going to be weird. For the first time since I have been playing for 12 years (since I was 50) we're playing a place where it's likely that most of the musicians l learned to play with, and past band members, may show up for our gig tonight! Finally playing at a small venue (nice word for dive bar) and a lot of the people I started with are going to show up!!! The guys I started jamming with my first time on a stage. The guys from the first four or five bands I played with. Some folks that I've been going to see for years! It all just worked out for once, but it seems its ALL at once! Seems they're not all playing out tonight.

And I have to admit I'm a bit nervous for a change! Not the typical jazzed-up thing before a normal gig, I got over the scared thing years ago.

Thoughts? Advice?

I owe all of these folks so much! So many good friends I've gained over the last decade or so.

This may be up to a dozen or more folks. And I reeeeally don't want to hose it. None of them have ever heard me sing before, either.

Wish me luck!

oZZma likes this.
  2. OogieWaWa

OogieWaWa

Mar 17, 2013
    Oak Harbor, OH
    Oh, and I will announce and thank each and every one of them. Even if everything falls through and only three or four show up. You know how it goes when people say they will be there.

3. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    Smile and have fun! Good luck.:thumbsup:

fdeck and OogieWaWa like this.
  4. eJake

eJake

May 22, 2011
    New Orleans