1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Playing with acoustics instruments in remote locations?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by whirledpeas, May 6, 2010.

1. whirledpeas

whirledpeas Supporting Member

Feb 18, 2010
    Sittin' Here in Limbo
    TB’ers –

So I’ve been playing bass for about 3 months now. After quite a bit of deliberation, I ended up buying a BTB575FM – which I love! Initially it had some issues with uneven frets, but after having that addressed, I can’t believe how nice it plays for the $ (got a good deal b/c it’s being discontinued).

Playing is really becoming fun as I’m starting to figure out how to make some music and groove. I stretched my budget a bit and ended up with a nice “starter kit” – LMII thru an Aggie GS-112. I love the sound I’m getting out of such a portable set-up! Really glad I decided to splurge for more than a practice amp.

But now with the weather warming up and camping trips & festivals on the horizon, I’d like to get some advice on options for playing bass with acoustic instruments in a field setting. (Aside from learning DB and dropping $1k for another instrument – sure, in an ideal world!)

I’ve got concerns about taking my neck-thru out of a climate controlled environment (are my concerns warranted?). Thinking I might need a cheap “beater” to drag along on camping trips, etc.

I’ve been searching the forums and am wondering if I’m better off with a cheap AEB or a cheap solid body? Either thru something like a HOG30?

Any thoughts as to what’s more durable, will hold up better to temp/humidity changes, etc?

Seems that an AEB might produce a better tone for bluegrass, acoustic jams, etc. But I’ve also considered getting a 4 string solid EB as it might be easier to find a cheap one.