Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Playing with drummer

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mrlocrian, Aug 14, 2005.

1. mrlocrian

mrlocrian

Aug 6, 2005
    Any tips on how to play bass with a drummer and fill in on gigs?
    Just started playing bass recently from guitar.
    What do I listen for?

2. PaulF

PaulF

Nov 17, 2004
    There's no 'rules' - you can do what you want.

I like keeping my basslines 'tight' with the Kick Drum, so if I'm just playing root notes (or something very simple), I like to play the same rhythm as the drummers kick drum.

However, if your drummer tends to play what he 'feels' and doesn't play repeating patterns, this can be hard.

I was a drummer, so I do tend to play bass rhythms in a drumming style (I often find myself playing octave root notes, with the lower one emulating his kick drum, and the high one his snare), but there are many ways you can play 'together'.

That said, my all time favourite is playing unison riffs with the guitars :D

Hope this helps....

PaulF

3. Andyattalkbass

Andyattalkbass

Aug 11, 2005
    England
    Definately start out listening to the kick drum, lock in with this and things are going to start to sound tighter. The best way is to just find yourself a drummer who is willing to jam with you. Theres no substitute for getting out there and practicing it in real life.

A decent drum machine might be of use to you as well :)! Although unlike a real drummer this will generally just repeat the same beat over and over with very little variation, but it will still definately help you.

4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Stand where you can see his right foot on the kick pedal in case you can't hear the kick clearly.

Make plenty of eye contact, watch his body language.

Play simply and leave him space so he can do fills.