1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

playing with 'heart'

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Dazey, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Dazey

Dazey

Dec 20, 2011
    St. Louis
    Okay so my friend has been playing guitar and bass for 6-7 years. he's very good. I've been playing bass for a few months. I'm okay I guess. He gives me lessons. I can play some songs. Black Magic Woman by Santana. What It Is and What Should Never Be, The Ocean, Rock n Roll, Dazed and Confused, by Zeppelin. Me and My Friends, Mellowship Slinky, Naked in The Rain, Can't Stop, Suck My Kiss, My Lovely Man, The Righteous and The Wicked by RHCP.

A few others but not much else. But the thing is a lot of the times when he's giving me a lesson he'll say stuff like "put some bounce in it man" or "play it with a little heart!" I really don't know what he means. I just don't understand how to put bounce in it. I don't really know what i'm asking but i'm hoping someone here can help me. :confused:

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    These are terms used by people who have trouble talking about music. The information you need is more specific than can be given here. But... try playing some notes shorter than you have been, or longer, or louder or softer. Understand that in a musical phrase some notes are more important than others, just like a sentence that is spoken. We can change the meaning of a collection of words just by making one louder, or putting a little silence before a word. Same thing with musical notes. Generally this idea comes under the heading of 'phrasing', but could be what your friend is talking about.

Also, some people respond to musicians physical movements while playing. A little 'body English' doesn't hurt sometimes to let others know you are into the musical moment.