Playing with others ...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by keithconn, Feb 6, 2002.

1. When would you say is a good time to start playing with others? And what EXACTLY is expected of you when you start playing with others. I'm talking your standard cover band situation.

I started playing about 6months ago. As some of you may know I came from playing the drums for about 12 years. So I have a knowledge of music. I am at the point of knowing all the notes on the fret board, major scales, (maj, min, dim)chord tones, some basic blues lines, and I can pick up songs with a little work.

Thing is, with the drums I started playing when everyone else was starting to play ... so everyone sucked, and was learning together. Now I suck, and am learning, but am going to be playing with people that have been playing for years, unless I start hanging out with kids 12years younger than me! - which is not happening!

I would just like to know what to expect when and if I ever start playing with people again! And let me tell you, stick with one instrument, because it sucks ... I am just dying to start playing with bands again!!

Later -
  2. Well, I've only been in garage bands and jamming with friends, so I'm no expert on this. What I can say is try to hook up with people who are into the same type of music. One band I was in consisted of: Lead guitarist into The Grateful Dead, NRPS
    Rhythm guitarist into Jazz, classical
    Drummer into Grateful Dead - That was it!
    Keyboard into Classical*
    Bass (Me) into Jazz, R&B, Pop, Folk, C&W
    Singer - Very pretty girl - hardly ever showed up
    always going on dates. When she did show up
    she sounded like Linda Ronstadt