Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

playing without an amp

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by AJ Love, Dec 14, 2003.

1. AJ Love

AJ Love

Oct 8, 2002
    Madison WI USA
    I am new to playing Upright bass and I want to play without an amp, simply because I like that sound the best but also because my employer/bandleader insists on it.....

SO, I am wondering what are the best ways to play bass without an amp, what type of string height, what type of strings etc etc

2. abaguer

abaguer

Nov 27, 2001
    Milford, NJ
    Just curious, do the singers sing without microphones and does the guitar player play without an amp as well?

If you're new to upright, playing in a full band without amplification can be one way to get your sound together in a hurry, although most guys who played without amps in the old days say they would never go back to that way of playing.

I guess the specifications depend on a couple of things. How loud is your bass, (is it plywood or carved) what is the sweet spot tension wise that projects a good sound but doesn't totally exhaust you after the 24th chorus of Cherokee. I think it'll take a little bit of experimentation with this band and a little feedback from players in the group to let you know how much you need to change your set up, if at all. I'm assuming that since your bandleader insists on you playing without an amp that he is hip to having the band play responsibly volume-wise so everything can blend and be heard.

3. Yeah, a big part of it is going to get the rest of the band on track with the no-amp thing, and as abaguer pointed out, the leader should instruct the band accordingly if he insists on no amp.