1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Please advice on compressor + envelope filter

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by DavidMP, May 9, 2006.

1. DavidMP

DavidMP

May 8, 2006
    Alberta, Canada
    I have been lurking around for some time in here, using the search function and learning lots from the previous postings but I have finally come up with questions I really need your input on.
    I started playing classical guitar when I was 14 (I'm 28 now) and switched to the bass about a year and a half ago. I think it was really good that I started on guitar; if I started on basss I probably would have never tried it.
    Anyways, I've been trying to get some good funk grooves going and (while I'll admit my technique neets lots of improvement) I have come to realize that I need effects to get the sound. I have searched in this forum and it seems that the right combination is
    bass->envelope filter->compressor
    I have narrowed the compressors to the EBS Multicomp or Aphex Puch-Factory and the filters to the EMMA Discombobulator or the EBS BassIQ. Any preferences, pointers, obvious pitfalls? Has anybody compared them side by side? What would be the advantage of a dual band compressor?

Thanks a lot for your advice; I have to rely on you since I live in Canada and all I can find are the massive Electro Harmonix, Boss and DOD.

David