Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Please critique my bass photos

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jive1, Sep 26, 2005.

1. jive1

jive1 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
    I am trying to improve on my newbie photography skeels, and would like some feedback on the pics I took. I used a Canon A70, a tripod, a couple of 250W lights, and a black bedsheet.

As far as photoshopping, all I did was blur the black background, sharpened a couple of images, and cropped.

This is my first attempt at doing photos in a "studio" setting with lights, so I figure I still have alot to learn. If anyone has any comments or tips, I'd much appreciate it.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    the 4th picture is a bit blurry.

Are you using direct light or not?

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    The second photo has a black line surrounding the body that is slightly distracting... but congrats, you managed to avoid a photonono... not using a jet black background. People always see black backgrounds and assume "black is infinite... like space" when in reality a completely black background tends to flatten space. The off black/dark dark grey you went with is basically what you want to shoot for, though it isn't consistant in all pictures, it varies... I don't know if it's your exposure that varied or what.

4. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    I would of liked to see the sides of the body on some of those pics...

Also, it looks like the tuner pegs need to be wiped down...

I'm anal! :D

5. jive1

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA