Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

please don't laugh at this question but....

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by $$$TRIS$$$, Feb 8, 2002.

1. $$$TRIS$$$

$$$TRIS$$$

Aug 7, 2001
    I wish to buy a songbook for the Who so i can nail some of those entwhistle lines. ANyway i looked up a few songbooks, now they all seem to say guitar/piano/vocals. Now i've never purchased a songbook before, so if it says 'guitar' does this include bass aswell? Or should it say guitar/bass/piano/vocals?

Plus can anyone recommend a Who songbook to purchase?

thanks...

2. Bassmouse3

Bassmouse3

Nov 12, 2001
    Valby, Denmark
    I'm no expert on the subject, but I do believe that when a book includes piano clef, it also includes the bass clef, although I could very well be wrong.
    Also, bear in mind that John Entwistles bass lines are quite intricate, thus you probably will not find an accurate transcription.
    Best Regards,
    Bassmouse3.

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I've never looked for a Who one specifically, but with 99% of songbooks, they will give you piano and/or guitar chords (Tabs!) which outline the harmony and the tune with words. They almost never give a transcription of the bassline - unless this is a "riff" or hook to the song.

I would say that if it says "guitar/piano/vocals" you are almost certainly not going to get a transcription of any basslines. Led Zeppelin 1-5 complete, has been the onlly exception to this rule, I've found - but then they have a lot of riffs.

I think you would be better off using search engines on the web and putting in terms like "John+ Entwistle+transcriptions+bass+lines" .

4. No. Get the true Bass version! Its got to be out there somewhere ....

Guitar version will do you no good.