Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DaS HaaS, Jun 12, 2004.

1. DaS HaaS

DaS HaaS

Feb 11, 2004
    Sunrise, Florida
    Endorsing Artist - Ampeg, Ernie Ball
    I am in need of some help. Im desperate. I have a GK 400RB-III head that I use with a Hartke 410TP cabinet My bass of choice is a Cort Curbow5 I have a decent sized pedal board with about7 pedals. I have been using this rig for a bout 2 years and have never had a problem with it. last week I tried to add a second cabinet to my rig and about 25 min into practice the "power/protect light on my amp went from green to red and i had no sound, The clipping light was also solid red ( I have never seen the4 clipping light on in 2 years) I looked to see if anything was disconnected or anything of that nature and all seemd well. I turned of the amp and used another amp and continued playing. About 10 min later i turned on my GK head and the light was green again. I then tried to play again using my original setup with the 410tp cab and about 10 min into playing it happened again. I eventually left it off and continued practicing with the amp that was in the studio. When I got home I took the head out of the SKB case and smelled the inside just to see if it was fried, but all seemed well Today I went to practice with the normal setup I have been using for 2 years and about 45 min into practice it whappened again. sometimes the clipping light goes on in addition to the "power/protect" light going red, and sometimes it does not go on, just the "power/protect" is read and no sound. i tried diff cables and nothing still happens after x amount of minutes. i dont understand why this is happening after i rteverted back to my normal setup. Is my amp fried? shoudl I try to get it repaired? PLEASE HELP IM DESPERATE!
  2. mikezimmerman

mikezimmerman Supporting Member

Apr 29, 2001
    Omaha, Nebraska